Charcoal Makers From Devon and Elsewhere

Name Nearest Town Email Address Phone Number
Bulworthy Project Tiverton us@bulworthyproject.org.uk 07594569441
Nettelfields South Molton nettelfields@gmail.com 07818065607
Millmoor Woodland Enterprises Ltd Crediton millmoorwood@gmail.com 07780 756148
Courage Copse Creatives South Molton office@couragecopse.co.uk> 01769 540446
Burnicome Wood Exeter john@forestryhorses.co.uk 07545650277
From the Wood South Molton info@srftreespecialists.co.uk 07774 218349
Woodthyme Ltd Aveton Gifford/ Loddiswell littlebluebell@woodthyme.co.uk 07967403205
Steward Woodland & Land Management Ide, Exeter stuartbrooking@sky.com 01392 436229 / 07801 789215
Burrator Reservoir, South West Lakes Trust Yelverton heritage@swlakestrust.org.uk 01822 855700
Yomer Wood Ilfracombe yomerwood@gmail.com 07984209764
Ben May Hatherleigh ben@forestcrafts.co.uk 01837 811123
Jo Bow Dawlish / Teignmouth j-o-n@blueyonder.co.uk
Devon Charcoal Company Yealmpton thedevoncharcoalcompany@gmail.com 07816398131
Marc Biddle Loddiswell> 07866482483
Beau Dobson Tavistock beau.woodworks@gmail.com 01822 852933

 

Having put together the list of Devon’s charcoal makers, we were asked if we could expand this list to foreign parts, so here’s a list of charcoal makers from Somerset and beyond so that you can find a charcoal maker near you.

Name Location Email Telephone
Avon
Tree Quarters Wotton Under Edge louis@treequarters.net
Joseph Weaver Bristol josephweaver.cwm@gmail.com 07931695104
Bedfordshire
Wassledine Gravenhurst info@wassledine.co.uk 07794 013876 / 01462 711815
Cornwall
Greenwood Futures Saltash treewrights@yahoo.co.uk 07542174962
Tom Kemp Gweek woodforthetrees@gmail.com 07531265646
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Natural Earth Woodcraft Holymoorside/td> naturalearthwoodcraft@gmail.com 07879456016 / 07747098086
Darren Abell Swadlincote darren@abellto.co.uk 01283 217313 / 07977544214
Dorset
Dorset Charcoal Company Sturminster Newton enquiries@dorsetcharcoal.co.uk 01258 818176
Ben Short Bridport charcoalben46@gmail.com 07568071350
Toby Hoad tobyhoad@hotmail.co.uk 07984488894
Durham
Chester-le-Streetkgsawf@gmail.com07792334289
Tim Davies Lanchester info@poomwood.co.uk 07896173405
Bill Oakes Stanley bill.oakes@btinternet.com 07803902188
Gloucestershire
West Country Coppice Stroud brian.hurdles@btinternet.com 07833750820
Chris Atkins Tewksbury chris@catkins.org 07720399966
Resilient Woodlands Initiative Lydney Sales@resilientwoodlands.co.uk 01594 529688
Hampshire
Simon Farndon Basinstoke sfarndon08@btinternet.com 07986096635
Hedgesparrow Winchester mary.sparkes@btinternet.com 01962 275081 / 07881911241
Woodlander Coppice New Milton info@woodlandercoppice.co.uk 01425 612340 / 07749242486
Three Copse Products sales@threecopse.co.uk 02392_595147
Herefordshire
Moreton Wood Ullingswick paul@moretonwood.co.uk 07920851674
Hertfordshire
Stag Charcoal Hertford info@hertswoodfuel.co.uk 07840 826268
Kent
Kent Woodland Employment Scheme Maidstone susannah@kwes.org.uk 07961 869118
Mannswood Coppice Products Edenbridge mannswood@blueyonder.co.uk 01732867110 / 07713202298
Ladyoak wood Goudhurst info@ladyoakwood.co.uk 07726333619
Lancashire
The Coppice Co-op Ltd Carnforth info@coppicecoop.co.uk 07766629533
London
Rivenwood Coppice London (N17) iain@rivenwoodcoppice.com 07812367480
Northhamptonshire
Hazel Woodland Products Kettering 01536 763756 / 07785 536613
Northumbria
Northumbria Forestry northumbriaforestry@icloud.com
Oxfordshire
The Oxford Charcoal Co Witney 07890967599
Powys
Black Horse Charcoal Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant barbara@carnog.co.uk 07901741217
Shropshire
Smallwoods Association Telford richardthomason@smallwoods.org.uk 01952432769
Pics and Sticks Telford mark@picsandsticks.co.uk 07577 953996
Scout Wood Products Telford corrinnepeacock@hotmail.com 07503 299280
Somerset
Westcountry Charcoal Taunton westcountrycharcoal@yahoo.com 07961229145
Steve Pins Taunton 07929970328
Neroche Woodlanders Taunton gavin@nerochewoodlanders.org 07760665378
Staffordshire
Riverwoods Cheadle groundsforconservation@hotmail.com 01538 756138 / 07964 934556
Suffolk
Graham Sayell Hadleigh graham_snail@yahoo.co.uk
Surrey
Rob Stringer Guildford robswoodlands@yahoo.com 07792786655
Wey Valley Woodman Godalming weyvalleywoodman@gmail.com 01483 424948 / 07867428988
Sussex
Four Seasons Fuel Billingshurst nick@fourseasonsfuel.co.uk 01403783379
Wildwood Charcoal and Coppice Chichester waters@wildwoodcoppice.co.uk 01243 778106
Marcus Clear Arundel JacksYard@rocketmail.com 07748954043
Lyndwood Forestry Icklesham lyndwoodforestry@yahoo.com 07882730867
Bonny’s Wood Lewes treecare@bonnyswood.com 01273 311043
Swansea
Gower Charcoal (by The Wildlife Trust of South & West Wales) Swansea p.thornton@welshwildlife.org 07966564372
Wiltshire
The Natural Path Warminster lucie@thenaturalpath.org.uk 079035873760
Worcestershire
Worcester Coppice Crafts Worcester tomamos@live.co.uk 01905 420118 / 07861729529
Wildwood Coppice Craft Worcester info@wildwoodcrafts.com 01684 575516
Wrexham
Bill Smith Wrexham bodgerbill3@gmail.com 07730 433660
Yorkshire
Leeds Coppice Workers Leeds leedscoppiceworkers@gmail.com 07986 292638
Wild Service Marsden info@wildservice.org 01484 768246
Blackbark Woodland Management Hebdon Bridge hywel@blackbark.co.uk 07816585661
Brockdale Alpaca Stud Wentbridge 07775516779

If you know a charcoal maker who is not on the list or if any details are incorrect, please email us@bulworthyproject.org.uk

Many thanks